You can access the User Permissions section of the Resy Dashboard by logging in here and then clicking on the graph icon in the upper left-hand corner to reveal the Dashboard menu. Only users with the permission to 'manage users' will have access to this section of the Resy Dashboard. So if you aren’t seeing the menu option please speak with someone on your team who can manage users and give your login access.
Once you click on the User Permissions menu you’ll see a list of all the users who have a username and access to your system. For each user you’ll be able to see their Name, Email Address, Job Title, Permissions given, and whether or not Password Protections are enforced for the user.
By clicking on the three dots to the right of a user, you can edit their information and permissions or deactivate their account therefore removing all access.
Adding a New User
To create a new user click 'Add User' in the top right corner.
Enter the employee name and email address, then select a job titled from the drop-down menu - The job title selection will help you organize your users will let our Support team know who they are chatting with when you contact us for assistance.
Next assign the user booking & settings permissions. All Booking Permissions have to do with booking reservations that have a price or cancellation policy associated with them, therefore requiring credit card details to be taken during the booking process and credit cards to be charged by your team if the guest violates the policy. If your restaurant doesn’t have any prepaid reservations or cancellation policies then you don’t need to worry about these permissions.
- Book without payment - This allows the user to opt to not take credit card information when booking in-house for a guest on a table with a cancellation fee or price. If the user does not have this permission to book without payment, then they will be require to input credit card information every time they book a guest for a table with a cancellation policy or price.
- Charge cancel fee - This allows the user to charge a cancellation fees in ResyOS for guests who violate the policy.
- Click here to learn how to add a credit card to a reservation and charge cancellation fees.
All Setting Permissions have to do with what parts of the Dashboard can the user view and make changes to. If you don’t want the user to make any edits to the Settings within your dashboard then you don’t need to give them any. They will still be able to view the Analytics portion of the Dashboard.
- Update venue and banking information - This gives the user access to the 'Venue' section of the Resy Dashboard where you can edit online listing information, online pictures, & submit banking information for direct deposit.
- Update shifts - This gives the user access to the 'Shift Settings' tab in the 'Service' section of the Resy Dashboard where you can create and edit recurring shifts.
- Single-day changes - This gives the user access to the 'Calendar' tab in the 'Service' section of the Resy Dashboard where you can make single-day edits to your availability & setup events.
- Guest Communication - This gives the user access to the Guest Communication section of the Resy Dashboard where you can turn on-off your automated SMS and customize language for automated SMS & emails if you’re signed up for Platform 360 or above.
- Manage Users - This gives the user access to the User Permissions section of the Resy Dashboard where you can create new users, edit user permissions, & setup password protections.
By default, if you are using the password protection feature for actions in ResyOS, the user will need to enter a password to perform those actions. You can turn this off to allow the user to bypass the need for a password when logged in.
Once you’ve added a new users, you will see their name listed amongst the restaurant’s users with an “Invited” status. At this time the user’s email address is sent an email confirming the account is active. They will need to click the link in that email to set their password. Once the user had set their password their status will no longer be “Invited”.
You can then add users to have access to the Automated Reports which are generated and sent daily. You can also add users to the Distribution List for Analytics Reports and ResyOS generated reports.
The password protection section of User Permissions is where you can set up which actions you'd like to be password protected. Only users designated as Admins or with the permission to 'manage users' will have access to this section of the Dashboard. The following actions can be password protected:
- Creating unassigned reservations
- Booking and assigning reservations to in-house inventory
- Closing and opening days and shifts
- Adding and removing blocks on tables
- Editing floor plans and tables
- Disabling online reservations for a shift
When performing an action that is password protected, users will be prompted to enter the password. If entered incorrectly, the action will fail. For more information on Password Protection, click here.
Resetting your Password
If a user ever needs to reset their password after they set it for the first time, go to the Dashboard login page here and click on “Forgot Password”. If you’re already logged into the Dashboard and want to change it to something else, click on your initials in the upper right hand corner and click on Reset Password. Both ways will trigger a password reset email to be sent.